Medical Supply All

SAME DAY SHIPPING: We ship within 24 hours! Once your order is dispatched, estimated delivery time is between 3 to 5 business days. Please consider any holidays that might impact delivery times.


Have Query E-Mail Us

US Plans to Lift Omicron Travel Restrictions for 8 African Countries

According to a senior government official, the Biden administration would ease travel restrictions placed on eight African countries to combat the spread of the omicron version of Covid-19. These countries included South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, and Malawi. And they will have their travel restrictions lifted on December 31.

The decision was supported by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, according to the official. It is because health specialists now know that the current COVID vaccinations in the United States are effective at avoiding serious disease in those infected with the Omicron. Given how ubiquitous omicron was across the world, the administration also stated that overseas visitors from African nations would have no substantial influence on U.S. cases.

These restrictions were imposed on the 29th of November when the new Omicron variant was discovered in South Africa. But now its transmission in the region is slowing as quickly as it spread. This has provided the scientific and general community with a hope that this new variant will be short-lived and would not be that damaging. 

One of the officials stated that international travel restrictions were necessary at the start of the outbreak. However, they were never thought to be permanent and now that the situation is getting controlled, these restrictions will certainly be uplifted.  

For further information on CNBC, click here;